Lotus Flower.

The Lotus is the spiritual flower. One of the most ancient and deep seated symbols on our planet. Sacred to Hindu, Buddhist, the Egyptians as well as many other cultures and religions. They believe that the remarkable beauty of a perfect, unblemished, untouched lotus is a representation of a pure heart and mind.
In Christian society, the lotus is a symbol of fertility, grace and of pious or lofty thoughts.
There is strength in the lotus having grown out of murky waters and there is hope in its symbolism which helps to overcome struggles in daily life.
The different colours of the lotus have an influence on their meaning.
The white lotus is purity and devotion.
The pink lotus is specifically purity and softness of the heart.
The blue lotus is ascension.
The red lotus is passion and the purple lotus is enlightenment or rebirth.
Green lotus flowers are given as a gift for a new start or someone trying to improve their life.
The plant is both medicinal and edible.
A native bright yellow lotus was revered by the North American Indians being a valuable food source for them. Lotus root is a common ingredient in Asian cooking.
The number of petals relate to numerology. The eight petaled lotus represents the eight fold path to enlightenment and the Chakras.
The lotus with a thousand unfolded petals represents reaching enlightenment.

(233 words)

Published by Incense Princess

Author/ Freelancer/ Proprietor of Abra Kadabra Kuranda.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: